Municipality of Brenda-Waskada

November 14th Regular Meeting – 2023

The Municipality of Brenda-Waskada held their Regular Council meeting on Tuesday, November 14th, 2023. The HOC called the meeting to order at 9:25 AM

Attending the office were: HOC D. Vanmackelbergh, DHOC D. Stewart, Councillors C. Vandaele, A. Van Steelandt, B. Nestibo, K. Bertholet, B. Brinklow, and CAO D. Woodworth.

THAT the Members of Council approve the meeting agenda

Carried

THAT the Members of Council approve the minutes of the last regular meeting of October 10th, 2023, and the Special Meeting of November 2nd, 2023.

Carried

Waskada Service deadline of February 29^{th} , 2024, to have the building cleaned up – or any items left to go to auction.

THAT the Members of Council approve the following accounts:

$\begin{array}{r} 430.08\\11800.00\\16875.60\\6394.04\\11800.00\\200.00\end{array}$	chq 7977 9 e deposit 9 e deposit 7 e deposit 9 e deposit chq 7978
11800.00 16875.60 6394.04 11800.00	9 e deposit 9 e deposit 7 e deposit 9 e deposit
11800.00 16875.60 6394.04	9 e deposit 9 e deposit 7 e deposit
11800.00 16875.60	9 e deposit 9 e deposit
11800.00	9 e deposit
	1
420.00	
200.00	chq 7976
\$ 185579.20	
34377.98	ch 1133-1160
82437.71	ch 1117-1132
536.36	ch 1116
357.83	ch 1115
28141.18	ch 1102-1114
	ch 1083-1101
	536.36 82437.71 34377.98 \$ 185579.20 200.00

AND THAT the Members of Council acknowledge receipt of a budgetary control dated, November 30th, 2023.

Carried

THAT the Members of Council approve and authorize the two Age Friendly applications from the Manitoba Association of Senior Communities to be completed and submitted:

1. Collaborative Grant

2. Milestone Application

Carried

THAT the Members of Council approve a donation of \$2500 to Goodlands Rink for hot water tanks.

AND IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Goodlands Rink yearly grant to be increased from \$4000 to \$5000/year.

Carried

THAT the Members of Council approve the following overtime for October 1-31, 2023.

Shane May 0 h	hours (Pay out) $x 1.5 = 0$
Ray Aitchison6 h	hours (Pay out) $x 1.5 = 9$ hours
Caleb Maguire 2 h	hours (Pay out) $x 1.5 = 3$ hours
Jeff Morgan 0 h	hours (Pay out) $x 1.5 = 0$

Carried

WHEREAS the Municipality of Brenda-Waskada has recently identified a deficiency and a line leak with the sewage lift station in the community of Medora.

AND WHEREAS there is an opportunity for a cost sharing agreement with Manitoba Water Services Board for this repair.

BE IT THEREFORE RESEOLVED that the Municipality of Brenda-Waskada request financial assistance for the MWSB for this project with an estimated cost of \$63,000.

Carried

THAT the Members of Council authorize a donation in the amount of \$5000 To the Southwest Manitoba Regional Foundation for the "Giving Challenge"

Carried

THAT the Municipality of Brenda-Waskada council approve the installation of four (4) speed readers boards, subject to approval by Manitoba Infrastructure, Traffic Engineering Department.

Location of speed reader boards would be PTH #3, east and west of Medora and located on PR 251 north and south of Waskada.

Carried

WHEREAS Section 252(2) of the Municipal Act provides "A charge referred to in Section 252 clause (1)(a) may be collected by the Municipality in the same manner as a tax may be collected or enforced under this act";

NOW THEREFORE be it resolved that the following unpaid Account Receivable accounts be added to the properties serviced.

Inv	Cust	Desc	Value
2022-00129	BUR362	Demolish house in Medora	7340.00
Interest	BUR362	9 Months x 91.75	825.75
		TOTAL	\$8165.75

Carried

THAT the Members of Council accept the agreement term and conditions prepared by HMC Management Inc. and hire the firm for the Chief Administrative Officer Recruitment Services.

Carried

THAT the Members of Council approve the Christmas Bonuses for 2023 as per the recommendations presented.

Carried

Whereas the elected council of the Municipality of Brenda-Waskada met And made the following changes to the committee appointments.

BE IT RESOLVED the following members of council and other persons be appointed to the following committees:

Head of Council Deputy Head of Council Co-Cheque Signing Authority	David Vanmackelbergh Donna Stewart Kandise Bertholet
Western Caucus	David Vanmackelbergh, Donna Stewart Alternate – Alana Van Steelandt
Southwest Veterinary District	David Vanmackelbergh
South West Regional Water Co-op Inc.	CAO, Kandise Bertholet, David Vanmackelbergh
S.W. Emergency Management Group	Lindsay Ginter, Diane Woodworth Blake Nestibo
Melita & Area Elderly Persons Housing Corp.	Bill Dickinson (Amber 522-3493)
Senior Services of Antler River	Patti Lewis
Senior Outreach Services of Bren-Win-Inc.	Bob Brinklow, Eileen Bell, Val Perriman
Melita & Area Handi-Van Committee	Alana Van Steelandt
DBW Handy Van Inc.	Jackie Leforte (g)
Melita Fire Protection Area	David Vanmackelbergh
Deloraine Fire Protection Area	Donna Stewart
Waskada Fire Protection Area	Donna Stewart, Kandise Bertholet Don Wickham, Todd Temple, Harvey Temple
Bren-Del-Win Library Board	Kandy Bertholet, <mark>vacant</mark> , Margie Hannah, Mary-Anne Gervin, Jackie Reid
Southwest Library Board Tilbury	Alana Van Steelandt, Ashley (Kent)
Waskada Rink Committee	Bob Brinklow, Donna Stewart <u>Carson Spence</u> , Don Wickham, Dallas Rowe
Deloraine Rink	Chad Vandaele
Southwest Manitoba Regional Foundation	Mel Lee, Roland Hainsworth
Southwest Planning District	Bob Brinklow (Donna stay on for a bit)
Turtle MtnSouris Plains Heritage Assoc.	Gary Williams
Del/Win Airport Commission	Donna Stewart
Brenda Winchester Weed Control Board	Blake Nestibo, Donna Stewart

Weed Supervisor	Kelly Guenther
Souris River Watershed District Chain Lakes – Elgin Creek Medora – Waskada Creek	Keith Vanbeselaere, Chad Vandaele David Vanmackelbergh, Gary Nestibo
Southwest Recreation District	David Vanmackelbergh
Waskada Chamber of Commerce	Bob Brinklow
Crocus Country Economic Development Bd	Alana Van Steelandt, Ronda Palmer
Board of Revision	Council of the Whole
Asset Management	Chad Vandaele, Lindsay Ginter, Jeff Morgan, Ray Aitchison
Machinery Committee	David Vanmackelbergh, Blake Nestibo, Bob Brinklow
Personnel Committee	<u>Donna Stewart</u> , Alana Van Steetandt, Kandise Bertholet

Carried

Councilor Bertholet left the meeting.

BE IT RESOLVED that we do now adjourn at 1:50 PM and we reconvene again on December 11th, 2023, at 4:30 PM.

Carried

Head of Council

Chief Administrative Officer